Recently added item(s) ×

Your cart is currently empty.


More Views

  • OLE-942
  • OLE-942
  • OLE-942


by Perfume Genius

Availability: In stock

Learning LP
Learning CD
Learning (Bonus Track Edition) MP3
Track # Track Name
1) play  Learning
2) play  Lookout, Lookout
3) play  Mr. Peterson
4) play  Gay Angels
5) play  You Won
6) play  Write To Your Brother
7) play  No Problem
8) play  When
9) play  Perry
10) play  Never Did
11) play  Dreeem (Bonus Track)
12) play  Your Drum (Bonus Track)
13) play  Divine Faxes (Bonus Track)
Even though he is only in his 20s, Mike Hadreas, aka Seattle’s PERFUME GENIUS, has a story with the twists and turns of a person who has seen a lot of darkness. Hadreas explains: “I spent my whole life hiding from the things that happened to me, to my family and friends. The entirety of all these experiences: abuse, addiction, suicide, all that cool stuff, I couldn’t bear to look at it.”  
This extraordinary debut album explores that world through home-recorded songs that bring to mind early Cat Power, Elliott Smith, Sufjan Stevens and Pink Moon-era Nick Drake. Mostly simple vocal and piano, the minor-key melodies work their way into your brain and stick there. “Mr. Peterson" is the seemingly innocuous tale of a high school teacher turned inside-out. “Gay Angels' is a gorgeous soundscape of layered organs and synths. “Write To Your Brother' contains elliptical allusions to a mother treating a song “like a lover.' Hadreas’s life is a catalog of remembered pain and sadness, and this album is an indelible testament to that.