Recently added item(s) ×

Your cart is currently empty.


More Views

  • OLE-772
  • OLE-772

Real Emotional Trash

by Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks

Availability: In stock

Real Emotional Trash MP3
Track # Track Name
1) play  Dragonfly Pie
2) play  Hopscotch Willie
3) play  Cold Son
4) play  Real Emotional Trash
5) play  Out Of Reaches
6) play  Baltimore
7) play  Gardenia
8) play  Elmo Delmo
9) play  We Can
10) play  Wicked Wanda
“I am not a present to be opened up and parceled out again,” our man insists on “Gardenia,” track seven on his new album. Ha! That’s what you think, pal. From the day nigh two decades ago when the first scratchy sounds of Pavement floated in the ether above Stockton, the music of Stephen Malkmus has been the gift that keeps on keepin’ on. Much of Real Emotional Trash, his fourth "solo" LP (this one credited with The Jicks, like his second, Pig Lib), is decidedly low-down and heavy. It could hardly be otherwise with monster drummer Janet Weiss now a full-fledged Jick, alongside bassist Joanna Bolme and guitar/ keyboardist Mike Clark. Meanwhile, Malkmus the guitar hero is on full display here. "Dragonfly Pie," "Baltimore," and the title track are alchemic combinations of intricate composition and unfettered jam. These songs may sprawl like the Central Valley, they may spread out like a jet's flame, but when they reach that last tract house they gracefully spread their wings and head for the unclaimed land beyond.