Recently added item(s) ×

Your cart is currently empty.


More Views

  • OLE-195
  • OLE-195
  • OLE-195
  • OLE-195
  • OLE-195

The Magic City

by Helium

Availability: In stock

The Magic City MP3
Track # Track Name
1) play  Vibrations
2) play  Leon's Space Song
3) play  Ocean of Wine
4) play  Aging Astronauts
5) play  Medieval People
6) play  Lady of the Fire
7) play  Lullaby of the Moths
8) play  The Revolution of Hearts Pts I and II
9) play  Ancient Cryme
10) play  Cosmic Rays
11) play  Devil's Tear
12) play  Clementine
13) play  Blue Rain Soda
14) play  Walk Away
The long-awaited second album from Boston's HELIUM is an unexpected departure from the fragmented, angry pop of yore.

Recently naming it one of the best albums of the 90's, The Onion AV Club writes: "The Magic City, while retaining some of Helium's previous acidity, incorporates unabashed Yes-style prog and Renaissance-faire instrumentation. Fantasy and science-fiction themes abound-there's even a song called "Medieval People"-and tracks like "Lullaby Moth" and "Blue Rain Soda" presage Joanna Newsom's Ys a decade in advance. The Magic City sounded kind of like a prank in 1997, when prog was still a four-letter word, but recent history has proven Mary Timony to be a prophet."