Recently added item(s) ×

Your cart is currently empty.


More Views

  • OLE-878
  • OLE-878
  • OLE-878

The Sound The Speed The Light

by Mission of Burma

Availability: In stock

The Sound The Speed The Light MP3
Track # Track Name
1) play  1, 2, 3, Partyy!
2) play  Possession
3) play  Blunder
4) play  Forget Yourself
5) play  After The Rain
6) play  SSL 83
7) play  One Day We Will Live There
8) play  So Fuck It
9) play  Feed
10) play  Good Cheer
11) play  Comes Undone
12) play  Slow Faucet

Recorded in Boston with Bob Weston at the controls, the record is a departure from the pinned-needles roar of 2006’s The Obliterati. The new album sounds far more spacious and dynamic. It is more or less divided into 4 sets or suites of 3 songs. Each suite explores a set of moods or colors, across the usual dizzying array of lyrical topics, from alcoholism to fleshly concerns. The anthemic, catchy opener, our first MP3, is a classic Burma rocker on a level with “This Is Not A Photograph” or “That’s How I Escaped My Certain Fate.” Other tracks, such as “Feed,” “Forget Yourself,” and “Slow Faucet,” the latter a live favorite for some time, are slow, hypnotic builders. “Good Cheer” is a burst of almost uncontainable joy and fun that literally explodes from the speakers.

Of course, all the Burma trademarks are also present: the military snare drum, the melodic basslines high up on the neck, and the furiously experimental guitarwork, refracted and changed back into the songs via tape loops – all punctuated by the hoarse shouts of drummer Peter Prescott. This controlled chaos, this disciplined letting go, is the heart of what they do and it remains as exhilarating and fulfilling as ever.